Skip to main content

About Us

Established in 1977, the Department of Computer Science in KNUST serves as a center for computing education and research at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. There are strong research groups focusing on areas such as Artificial Intelligence, Cyber Security, Information Systems, Computer theory and Scientific computing, and Software Engineering. The goal of these groups is to use technology as a means to address national and international issues and to foster national development. Additionally, there is a strong emphasis on interdisciplinary and transnational research on applications that encourages basic and advanced research.

The Department of Computer Science is one of the five departments of the Faculty of Physical and Computational Sciences of the College of Science. The Department started with a 1-year certificate course in Data Processing which has currently been stopped. Many years down the line, the Department now runs a 4 -year degree programme in Computer Science. The Department was the first Department in the country to start a degree programme in Computer Science and this has been recognized by the government through the Ministry of Communication. As such, in late 2007, the Department was presented with an award during the first Information Communication and Technology Award night. 

In today’s rapidly changing world, maintaining global competitiveness requires the talents of a well-rounded, holistic individual with technical knowledge and business acumen to address challenging issues. The Computer Science Department is unique in developing skills in Information Technology.

Some of the major activities of the Department are as follows.


The Department currently runs the following programmes:

In the Regular mode we have:

      -  BSc Computer Science

      -  MSc/MPhil/Ph.D. Computer Science

      -  MSc/MPhil/Ph.D. Information Technology

      -  MSc/MPhil Cyber Security and Digital Forensic


In the Distance learning mode we have:

      -  Diploma in Information Technology BSc Computer Science

      -  BSc Information Technology

      -  MSc Information Technology

      -  MSc Health Informatics

      -  MSc Cyber Security and Digital Forensic

All the above programmes adequately prepare students for careers as system programmers, software engineers, system analysts, system designers, Cybersecurity specialists, and application programmers.


Plans are far advanced to start the following programmes:

      -  BSc Cybersecurity (both Regular and Distance Learning modes)

      -  BSc Information Technology (Regular mode)

      -  MSc Data Science (both regular and distance modes)


Teaching Staff

The number of teaching staff currently stands at fourteen (14) full-time, one (post-retirement contract, and two (2) part-time lecturers. The breakdown of the full-time staff is as follows:

Associate Professors            2

Senior Lecturers                   5

Lecturers                              7



Currently, areas of research being undertaken in the Department are software engineering, Computer Networking, Data Communication, Cybersecurity, Artificial Intelligence, and Optimisation. Research is also being undertaken in the area of computer-aided learning with special emphasis on the use of computers in instruction at the primary and secondary levels of the education system of the nation. The Department is also researching using robots to help autistic children in their daily lives

Publications among the teaching staff have increased tremendously.


Graduate Output

Graduate output has increased tremendously in the last few years. During the regular and Special 55th congregation the Department was able to graduate over One Hundred and twenty (120) students MSc/MPhil students and Two Ph.D. students.


Follow us on